Visit the COVID-19 landing page, where Council is aggregating information about the pandemic at a local level.

Attractions & Museums

  • BOOKINGS ARE ESSENTIAL FOR ALL MUSEUMS AND TOURS.

    BOOKINGS ARE ESSENTIAL FOR ALL MUSEUMS AND TOURS. PLEASE BOOK BEFORE TRAVELLING TO AVOID DISAPPOINTMENT.PLEASE NOTE DUE TO COVID-19 RESTRICTIONS SOME TOURS AND ATTRACTIONS MAY NOT BE AVAILABLE AT THIS TIME OR REQUIRE YOU TO BOOK AHEAD BEFORE ARRIVAL. PLEASE CHECK THE WEBSITE OF EACH TOUR AND ATTRACTION BEFORE TRAVEL.

  • AUSTRALIAN STOCKMAN’S HALL OF FAME

    The Australian Stockman’s Hall of Fame is undergoing a spectacular transformation!
    Construction and Stage 2 redevelopment will commence 16th October 2020 with an expected target for completion of April 2021.

    The Museum galleries will be closed for renovations from the 15th October, but the Café and the Cinematic Experience will be open.

    • Gallery and exhibits: Closed – 16 October 2020 – 31 March 2021
    • Cinema Experience, Café, and Retail – Open Tuesday – Saturday 10.00 am – 2.00 pm daily – Closed – Sunday and Monday
    • Christmas new year trading: Closed 25 December – 05 January
    • For Cinematic Experience please book here

    The Australian Stockman’s Hall of Fame and Outback Heritage Centre is Australia’s premier outback heritage institution. Inside, the Centre’s five themed galleries proudly display the history behind some of Australia’s greatest and bravest explorers, stock workers, pastoralist, and Aborigines. The exhibits comprising an eclectic mix of objects, images, touch screens, audiovisual presentations and open displays, allowing visitors to interpret the outback story in their own unique way.

    The museum also houses a vast reserve collection which forms a unique work-in-progress display. From behind a glass wall, visitors can view archival material, photographs, artworks and various other items used for research and in new display development.

    Phone: (07) 4658 2166

    Visit Website

  • QANTAS FOUNDERS MUSEUM

    A world-class, award winning museum and cultural display, eloquently telling the story of the founding of Qantas through interpretive displays, interactive exhibits, replica aircraft and an impressive collection of genuine artefacts.

    QANTAS, the world’s second oldest airline, was registered on 16th November 1920 as Queensland and Northern Territory Aerial Service Ltd. While Winton was the official birthplace of QANTAS, the company and operational headquarters were soon moved to Longreach in February of 1921 where a hanger and the country’s first purpose-built landing field were constructed. QANTAS was registered as a passenger and mail carrier from Longreach in 1922.

    The original hangar still stands today and is an integral part of the QANTAS Founders Outback Museum at the Longreach Airport. It features displays and other information about its original use and demonstrated the technology used by the aircraft industry during that era. The hanger where the fledgling airline constructed some of its first passenger carrying aircraft is arguably Australia’s earliest hangar building and is a vivid reminder of the pioneering days of commercial flight in Australia, the era of open cockpit biplanes landing on gravel runways. A replica of an early QANTAS booking office does duty in Eagle Street as the Visitor Information Centre.

    The museums collection incorporates four of the world’s most significant airliners – the Consolidated PBY Catalina Flying Boat, the Douglas DC3, the Boeing 707 and the legendary Boeing 747. In addition, we have full scale replicas of some of the most important aircraft in the early Qantas fleet – the DeHaviland DH-61 Giant Moth, the DeHaviland DH-50, and the Avro 504k Dyak; Qantas’ first ever aircraft.

    Phone: (07) 4658 3737

    Visit Website

  • LONGREACH POWERHOUSE AND HISTORICAL MUSEUM

    OPERATES NOVEMBER TO MARCH

    1 HOUR GUIDED TOUR
    TUESDAY & THURSDAY AT 10.15AM
    PLEASE CONTACT THE LONGREACH VISITOR CENTRE FOR BOOKINGS
    PHONE: 07 4658 4150
    EMAIL: [email protected]
    ADULT: $10.00, SENIOR & CONCESSION $8.00
    FAMILY (2A + 2C) $22.00, CHILD $5.00

    Phone: 07 4658 4150

  • LONGREACH POWERHOUSE AND HISTORICAL MUSEUM

    OPEN APRIL TO OCTOBER

    Powerhouse:
    This museum is unique in that it houses an electrical industry collection second to none and of National significance. The Power Station building is listed on the Queensland Heritage Register and the site on the Register of the National Estate. Electricity was first generated from this site for the town of Longreach in December 1921.

    Historical Museum
    The History Hall Building was the Longreach Office of the Regional Electricity Board from 1965 -1991. It now holds a collection of objects and memorabilia that gives a snapshot of the history of Longreach including; a 1948 era classroom assembled in 1993 for the Longreach Primary School Centenary; the old Airport Control Centre; a collection of commercial office equipment, circa 1908 – 1950 from local business houses.

    Out Door exhibits:
    Includes the Nogo Cottage a boundary rider’s cottage reflecting general station life and the lifestyle of workers in a bygone era. Farm machinery and first Swimming Baths.

     

    Phone: (07) 4658 4150

    email: [email protected]

  • HISTORIC ILFRACOMBE

    Experience the sense of freedom and adventure as you spend time exploring the charms of Ilfracombe, you can’t miss ‘the Great Machinery Mile’ an amazing line-up of historic machinery stretching over 1km.
    The collection of machines leads you to the Folk Museum, a replica of an early station residence, also situated within the museum complex is Oakhampton Cottage which offers a tangible glimpse into early outback households and Romani Hall, a memorial to the young men of the district who answered ‘the call to arms’ and is dedicated to Australia’s Light Horseman. Visit the Wellshot Centre learn about the story of Wellshot Station one of Australia’s greatest sheep and wool producers.

  • OUTER BARCOO INTERPRETATION CENTRE – ISISFORD

    CLOSED FOR RENOVATIONS REOPENING 2021

     

    Step back in time over 100 millions years of the prehistoric history is contained in this little town. The Outer Barcoo Interpretation Centre features the world class fossil exhibits including one of the oldest modern day crocodiles,’Isisfordia Duncani’ and the ancient Isisford Bulldog fish, which belongs to a group of fishes known as ichthyodectiform

    Visit Website

  • HISTORIC ISISFORD

    Isisford has plenty to offer when it comes to history with the Main Street housing many of the older buildings like the Hooper & Brunkhorst Store, Butcher, Bakery and Wases store. Also within walking distance is the Whitman’s Memorial Museum and Park and the Isisford District Hospital Museum & Multipurpose Centre.

Also in this section

Longreach Region Tourist Information logo

Copyright © 2020 Longreach Region Tourist Information